Nanjing trip

anyway, I had time to do a survey, to visit some places in the city and bring back some pictures
Train tickets purchased three days before I left last Monday so the apartment at 6:45 am to head to the Shanghai Railway Station to catch my train which left two hours later.
Obviously I was not the only one who planned to take the train. The waiting room was booked for 2-rail height, and even there the wave of traffic has fallen. Fortunately there is a giant TV screen to wait all this world …

So, 8:50, I’m in my place in my car “sitting hard” and we leave the station. I paid 47 yuan for the 4 hour trip that I will go through Kunshan, Suzhou, Wuxi, Changzhou, Zhenjiang before finally arriving in Nanjing just before 13h.
The journey has not been the first comfort. The car packed, sometimes my neighbors began to 2 on the same seat, which inevitably would compress me against the window, and made the position for reading and writing difficult to maintain. But hey, I could handle, and I could record my journey on the small program that I concocted to express my stay.
Knowing that I had to leave the next day in the late afternoon, I was quite proud to be able to optimize routes to see everything I wanted in the time with the light conditions that were required.

Nanjing is that there are a lot of things to see.
Current capital of Jiangsu Province, it has more than 5.3 million inhabitants. But mostly it was 2 times the capital of China, first in the Ming Dynasty, and finally at the turn of the twentieth century when it was the capital of the Republic of China. A great city is now developing rapidly, but still retains, which is rare in China, relics of the past Dynasties: this is what attracted me to spend two days here.

 

Just off the train, I hasten to buy a city map to 4 yuan sold on a small table just before the exit of the station. Here I am dressed to follow my program for the day:

find a room for the night not too expensive
visit the Nanjing Massacre Memorial
take a tour of the door of the city Ming Men Zonghua
go to the Fuzi Miao area and visit the Confucian temple
go take a look at the Bell Tower and Drum Tower
and end at Market Night Hunan Lu
1. To find the room, it was very fast.

At the exit of the station, as the output of any stations, I alpaguer made by 20 people who were there to offer tours of Nanjing to the day on small laminated panels. It does not interest me, I was there for 2 days
By cons, where they are clever is that the other side panel plastic, they have a tariff table for hotel rooms. Ah, there you interest me …
The girl offered me 200 yuan / night for a single room, I told him, “You are dreaming!, I’m at 50 yuan.” And it was heard on 60

Then the girl took me to the hotel in question. Along the way of course we did the chat and she tried to sell me the services of a guide, a driver and everything you can imagine to visit Nanjing. But I resisted.

Arrived at the hotel just behind the train station, my daughter negotiates prices with hostesses. In fact hotel, rather it is a building with rooms to rent for the night. Time to take a tour to see the holding of thing, it’s not good mirobolant, but for one night we will be content …
Anyway, 13:20, I come with a room for the night, Nanjing me!

find a room for the night not too expensive
visit the Nanjing Massacre Memorial
take a tour of the door of the city Ming Men Zonghua
go to the Fuzi Miao area and visit the Confucian temple
go take a look at the Bell Tower and Drum Tower
and end at Market Night Hunan Lu
2. The Nanjing Massacre Memorial
I wanted to go through this memorial. This reflects the atrocities committed by Japanese soldiers on civilians during the occupation of Nanking in 1937, killing nearly 300,000 people.
These atrocities are now causing repeated tensions between Chinese and Japanese, because the Japanese refused to include it in their history books this dramatic episode.

Indeed, in the history books of the French, I do not remember it is not mentioned.
But to live in China, I also learned to know and try to understand certain events in history that are often ignored in the West.

This is why I wanted not to leave Nanjing without visiting the memorial, which I will present in a separate article.

https://iworkinchina.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

